Dogs in Washington State are getting a boost from a new law that allows people to adopt from the state’s shelters and adopt them for a fee.
The law is a part of a statewide effort to help those in the state transition into their new lives.
It takes effect on June 2, and it is a big deal.
The Washington Humane Society said it has seen an uptick in adoptions in the past few months.
The Washington State Association of Animal Shelters said it had seen a 20 percent increase in adoptations in July.
The Humane Society of the Puget Sound said it was seeing an increase of about 30 percent.
The new law gives people who are in need of a pet the ability to apply for a shelter pet adoption.
That is a significant improvement over the previous laws that required people to wait for a hearing.
The state is offering a 10 percent adoption fee to anyone who can prove they are in immediate need of an animal, such as a family member or a friend.
The new law also allows for a $150 fee for a first-time pet.
The Humane Society has received calls from as far away as Australia and New Zealand, said Jill Ketcham, a staff attorney with the group.
“It’s an incredible step forward,” Ketchamp said.
The group has partnered with the nonprofit organization Save Our Dogs to distribute $1,000 gift cards to local pet adoption centers.
Ketchamps group will also be distributing $50 gift cards.
People in Washington state can now adopt for free.
People who can’t afford the fee are able to apply through the state and can adopt animals from their local shelters.
There are two types of adoptions: temporary foster homes and adoptable animals.
Temporary foster homes are places where an animal can be placed for several months while the shelter decides how to care for the animal.
The dogs in temporary foster care are allowed to stay with the adopter for up to a year, but must be returned to the foster home for adoption.
Adoptable animals must be adopted by a shelter.
Adoptable Animals are pets that meet the criteria of a qualifying pet under Washington’s law, and must be at least two years old.
The state’s foster care law does not allow for adoptable pets that are under five years old, but there is no rule that prohibits such animals.
People who want to adopt an animal for a money-back guarantee must file a claim with the state Department of Health and Human Services.
The department will send a letter to the adoptee, and the adopters will get a refund if the dog doesn’t meet the shelter’s criteria for adoption within 30 days of the adoption.
In an effort to keep the dogs from wandering, the shelter is working to have more dogs adoptable.
It also has launched a social media campaign called Get The Dogs, which allows people in the Pugets to ask for the animals.
It has had about 1,000 people post on Twitter asking for their dogs.